Haram is the opposite of halal and means “forbidden” or “prohibited” in Islam. It refers to foods, drinks and actions that are forbidden according to the religious rules of Islam. For example, pork and alcohol are haram. Haram foods and drinks may not be consumed in Islam as they violate religious laws.